I applaud Mirriam and Saina for having the courage to speak out on Season 2 Episode 1 of Leah Remini and Mike Rinder’s Scientology Aftermath.  In case you have not watched this as yet, I recommend that you do so.  Here is the link:

http://www.aetv.com/shows/leah-remini-scientology-and-the-aftermath/season-2/episode-1

I am at a loss for words to express my utter disgust and anger for what they went through in the cult.  I certainly had my share of trauma, but it doesn’t compare to theirs. I consider myself very fortunate to not have been involved in Scientology as a child and have the traumatic experiences that they had.

What we do have in common is speaking out, and I hope that they gain as much or more than I have from doing so.

A major turning point in my new life was when I told my story on a local TV talk show. I didn’t realize just how powerful that experience was until I reviewed that video as part of the final edit/review of my book, “Over the Edge: A Pawn in the Scientology Money Machine” which is estimated for release on Sept 1, 2017.

The Talk Show Host asked me about scars and I responded with words to the effect that I was holding myself back from engaging in an occupation that would be the best use of my abilites due the horrific experiences I had as a fundraiser for a cult.

I knew that I would be good in sales but I couldn’t bring myself to pursue it.  On the show, I had a revelation that no matter what one does in life it involves “selling” in some way, shape or form.

Interestingly enough, not long after that interview (late June 2014) I made a firm decision to become a Realtor.  I started my Real Estate classes the end of July 2014 and was licensed by mid Nov 2014.  I doubt that I would be having the quality of life I am enjoying now had it not been for speaking out in the manner that I did.

Here’s the excerpt from my book to share with you as well as the video.   If you or a loved one needs closure, I hope this helps.

“I joined several Meetup groups, including a Woman’s Empowerment Group called “F.R.E.E.” The group’s lead organizer, Robin, had a local TV talk show. She invited me to appear as a guest. That was pretty wild. She was fascinated with my story. I had gotten to the point where telling my tale didn’t seem to faze me anymore, but I was still embarrassed and ashamed that I had been so naïve. Fearing the possible consequences, I made it a point not to bring up the word “Scientology.”

Here is the interview:

